Did you know? (Slightly disgusting)

by

I warned you: slightly disgusting! A little while ago, I found out something that changed my whole outlook on what I eat. Check it out:

Few people know that the food coloring listed as cochineal extract comes from female beetles. Food activists want to spread the word.

When you dig into a strawberry Yoplait yogurt, take a moment to contemplate where the beautiful pink color comes from. Strawberries? Think again. It comes from crushed bugs. Specifically, from the female cochineal beetles and their eggs. And it’s not just yogurt. The bugs are also used to give red coloring to Hershey Good & Plenty candies, Tropicana grapefruit juice, and other common foods.

You won’t find “crushed bugs” on the list of ingredients for any of these foods, however. Companies have a bit of latitude in describing exactly what they put in our food. Many larger companies, such as General Mills, the manufacturer of Yoplait and Pepsi, the maker of Tropicana, identify the dye in their products as either carmine, or cochineal extract. Still, many companies simply list “artificial color” on their ingredients list without giving any details.
Food activists are trying to change disclosure requirements. The Food & Drug Administration has received numerous complaints over the issue and is now in the process of considering a proposal to require color additives like the cochineal extract to be disclosed on the labels of all foods that use them. “Hopefully we’ll see something by the end of the year,” says Michael Jacobson, executive director at the Center for Science in the Public Interest, a food advocacy group in Washington, D. C.”Beetlejuice” is more than just a movie name — foodmakers regularly use crushed female cochineal beetles to dye food, particularly certain yogurts, juices and candy, The Wall Street Journal reported today. While shocking, it’s perfectly legal, the paper reports. Foodmakers don’t have to list the bug-based ingredient, because beetles are part of nature. Only man-made dyes, like FD&C Red No. 40, have to be listed. But that may change soon. The Food and Drug Administration may recommend that companies list beetle additives as “carmine” or “cochineal.” Why? Using beetles in food proves problematic for vegetarians, people who keep kosher and for those with certain food allergies. The public health advocacy group Center for Science in the Public Interest has long asked the FDA to change the requirements for food labels so that they more clearly state ingredients that could conflict with people’s diets or trigger allergies. As it states on its Web site: “Cochineal extract is a coloring extracted from the eggs of the cochineal beetle, which lives on cactus plants in Peru, the Canary Islands and elsewhere. … These colorings have caused allergic reactions that range from hives to life-threatening anaphylactic shock.”
Here’s what the bug looks like:

So uh…gross, huh? Let’s just say I’ve stopped eating some strawberry yogurts. :p What do you guys think??

~Narnia

26 Responses to “Did you know? (Slightly disgusting)”

  1. Opus Of Bloom County AKA Josh Says:

    mmmmm yummy yogurt…… Makes my mouth water LOL šŸ˜‰ Greast post Narnia!
    ~Oslo~

  2. ~.Narnia.~ Says:

    Hehe, thanks. I wondered what people’s reactions to it would be!

  3. Spongekid3 Says:

    hey narnia i fractured my hand todays it was VERY fainful so just keep stuff up to date just wanted to tell u goth its so hard to type

  4. ~.Narnia.~ Says:

    AGAIN?!!! You are always getting hurt, Sponge! šŸ˜¦ I hope you feel somewhat better tomorrow, and in much less pain. šŸ˜¦ I will be glad to post for you…but aren’t you closing your site down?

  5. Tanuki I Says:

    blue coloring still good. šŸ˜€

  6. ~.Narnia.~ Says:

    šŸ˜†

  7. ...Enricom... Says:

    EWWWWWWWWWW

  8. blueblob333 Says:

    omg i was eating gogurt while i was reading this!!!!!!!! yoplait stuff is discusiting omg never eating that stuff again!!!!!!! thanks narnia !

  9. blueblob333 Says:

    if it wasnt for u i would be eating bugs for the rest of my life lol

  10. Ī¶Ć”Ā§Ī— Says:

    I’m hungry. Anyone for some yoghurt? VANILLA yoghurt?

  11. Jewel200 Says:

    aaaaaaaaah!!!! o and narnia long time no see lol!! a beetle–not only a beetle but one with hairy legs!!!! noooooooooo!!!!!!

  12. ~.Narnia.~ Says:

    Hahaha! I know, soo disgusting!!! Lol, Blue! Eating yogurt while reading this? Yuck!! Josh, I hate vanilla yogert. šŸ˜¦ Too bad! Hey, Jewel!! Long time no see!

  13. Spongekid3 Says:

    I did’t fracture/break anything before just sprained. This time its my right hand and its very hard to type. Very paiful. I was in the doctor care place thing the whole afternoon getting my ex-ray. My cast helps kinda. My friend thats a guy at my school did the same thing but on the other hand a week before i did but he did that with kickball and I did it with my skateboard. We went up to people saying were twins. Also when I feel I broke my new phone…Well I got to stop typing its getting incredibly hard to type with one hand.

  14. ~.Narnia.~ Says:

    I bet it is! I just feel so bad for you because you are always doing SOMETHING to yourself!!!!!

  15. Md Girl 314 Says:

    YUCK EWWWWW GROSS PUKE THATS DIGUSTING. BUGS—- EWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW

  16. ~.Narnia.~ Says:

    I know, isn’t it??

  17. ZĻƒĻƒzĻƒĻƒĆĪµĪµŠ¼ā„¢ Says:

    EWW!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I DIDN’T HAVE TO KNOW THAT!!!!

  18. Ī¦ĻĆ¼Ī£ Says:

    Tasty Tasty. I will have some yogurt Josh. Make that colored yogurt!

  19. ~.Narnia.~ Says:

    Ugh!!!!! šŸ˜‰

  20. Sara Says:

    Awesome Post!!! I’ve Never Heard This Before In My Life! I Wonder Where Blue Food Coloring Comes From Lol!

  21. Squishy133 Says:

    Ughhh! I’m never going to eat Strawberry Yoghurt. You know, this got me thinking…if Strawberry is made out of beetles……what’s banana, chocolate etc. made out of? Ew. It grosses me out just thinking about it!

    ~Squishy133~

    P.S. Hey Narnia, I’ve got a new ‘Non-CP’ site, would you visit for me and tell me what you think? Thankies, it’s http://www.onlyafallenstar.wordpress.com!

  22. Squishy133 Says:

    Oh, lol, I just realised that Sara had mentioned the ‘blue food’ colouring already. My mistake… šŸ™‚

    ~Squishy133~

  23. ~.Narnia.~ Says:

    Sure thing, I’ll go check it out! I know, it does make you wonder..

  24. Squishy133 (Not Logged In) Says:

    Thanks. I’m really creeped out actually. I went to my fridge right away and checked the youghurt. Lol

    ~Squishy133~
    Visit http://www.squishy133cp.wordpress.com Today!!

  25. ~.Narnia.~ Says:

    Yeah, I now check anything with strawberries or cherries in it to see if there is any Carmine

  26. Squishy133 Says:

    Ugh…that’s a good idea….I’m never eating strawberry stuff without checking it again! Ahh! And strawberry was always my favourite flavour…why couldn’t it be caramel that’s made out of dead bugs?

    ~Squishy133~
    Visit http://www.squishy133cp.wordpress.com and http://www.onlyafallenstar.wordpress.com Today!!

Leave a Reply

